Nigeria: Supplementary Elections held in Imo, Abia and Taraba States

By CHINYERE Ogbonna – The Independent National Electoral Commission conducted supplementary elections in twenty-seven states in eleven states of the federation yesterday.

They include three governorship, one senatorial district, one federal constituency, and twenty-two state constituency supplementary polls.

The most prominent among the elections are the supplementary governorship elections for Imo, Abia in the south-east, and Taraba in the north central zone of the country.

The INEC had said that the elections would take place in nine local government areas in Abia State, South-East Nigeria.

They are Aba North, Aba South, Ikwuano, Ohiafia, Osisioma, Ugwunagbo, Umuahia North, Umuahia South and Umunneochi.

In two hundred and seventy-six Polling Units where elections are scheduled today, one hundred and seventy-nine thousand two hundred and twenty-four registered voters are expected to vote.

Elsewhere in Imo State, the electoral body is conducting elections in four local government areas namely: Isiala Mbano, Isu, Ikeduru and Oguta.

According to the electoral umpire, in Taraba state, the election is also holding in ten local government areas, namely are Bali Zing, Takum, Yorro, Donga, Wukari, Ussa, Karim Lamido, Kurmi and Jalingo.

States where other forms of supplementary elections, Senatorial District, Federal Constituency and State Constituency is going on are: Akwa Ibom, Cross Rivers and Ebonyi states in the South,East,  Delta in the South, South, Ekiti in the south-east, Kogi, Gombe, Niger in the north.