Ghanain elected for CAF Executive committee – Kwesi Nyantakyi

By Peterking Quaye – News monitored from the Sudanese Capital , Khartoum was joyful to all Ghanaians ,as the fourth Ghanaian clinched to the throne of CAF . Nyantakyi has become the first Ghanaian to win the Caf seat since 1994 .The President of the Ghana Football Association, (GFA) Mr. Kwesi Nyantakyi has been elected to serve on the CAF Executive Committee.

Mr. Kwesi Nyantakyi

Mr. Kwesi Nyantakyi

He was elected on Wednesday  morning February 23, by the General Assembly of the Confederation of Africa Football after polling 34 votes to beat his opponent Benuean compatriot , Anjorin Moucharafou, President of the Benin Football Federation, who received just 19 , nineteen votes.

Mr. Nyantakyi, was widely tipped to win the top CAF job was seen filled with tears of joy as he walked round the voting venue in Khartoum -Sudan, in search of his wife, according to former BBC Sports Journalist Yaw Ampofo Ankrah, who reported from Khartoum via telephone conversation to a reliable source in Accra .

Nyantakyi, who was making his first continental electoral attempt ends country’s 17-year wait and now becomes the fifth Ghanaian to secure a place on the Executive Committee since 1994 when Sam Okyere last served in the post.

The Full results of the elections of CAF and FIFA Executive Committee held on February 23 at the CAF 33rd Ordinary General Assembly are as below :

Northern Zone

Tarek Bouchamaoui (Tunisia) – elected unopposed

Zone West A

Almamy Kabele Camara (Guinea) – elected unopposed

Zone West B

Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin) – 19 votes

Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana) – 34 votes

Tata Adaglo Avlessi (Togo) – withdrew

Hima Souley (Niger) – withdrew

Central Zone

Omari Constant (DR Congo) – elected unopposed

Central-East Zone

Celestin Musabyimana (Rwanda) – 19 votes

Leodegar Tenga (Tanzania) – 34 votes

Southern Zone

Adam Mthethwa (Swaziland) – 3 votes

Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia) – 38 votes

Walter Nyamilandu (Malawi)- 6 votes

John Muinjo (Namibia) – 5 votes

Justino Fernandes (Angola) – withdrew

Danny Jordan (South Africa) – withdrew