Nigeria: APC secures Ogun, Katsina States

By CHINYERE Ogbonna – Governor Ibikunle Amosun of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has been declared winner of the 2015 elections in Ogun State.

The INEC Returning Officer who announced the result in Abeokuta, the state capital, said Mr Amosun clinched 306,988 votes closest to his opponent, Mr. Gboyega Isiaka of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP who polled 201,440 votes.

This is the first governorship election result to be announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC in the country.

In Imo State collation is still in progress, while in Kaduna State, INEC has been announcing results from different local government areas.

In Lagos, collation of election results is still on going.

In some other states across the country, collation of results has begun in some states where the governorship and House of Assembly elections took place on Saturday.

Among the states considered to be the battleground areas is the nation’s commercial city, Lagos, where the opposition Peoples Democratic Party is fighting to unseat the All Progressives Congress.

Our political correspondent, CHINYERE Ogbonna who is monitoring the election is at the INEC situation room in Lagos, and keeping an eye on the process alongside other journalists, party agents and officials.

And in Katsina State, the former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Amino Bello Masari has been declared the winner of the Governorship election in that State.

Our correspondent monitoring the election is on ground to keep you updated as results are announced.