Nigeria’s National Assembly election results trickling in

By Chinyere Ogbonna – The Independent National Electoral Commission in Nigeria, INEC, has been releasing results for last Saturday’s National Assembly polls across the country. However, some results are as follows;

In Lagos State, south-west Nigeria, the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN has swept the three senatorial seats. The wife of the former Governor of the state and candidate of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Mrs. OluremiTinubu has emerged the winner in Lagos Central Senatorial District. She defeated seven other contestants. Announcing the results , the returning officer in the election, Dr. David Olapenla, said that , Mrs Tinubu polled two hundred and two thousand five hundred and six votes, (222,506) out of the total vote of three hundred and twenty-seven thousand and thirteen vote cast.

The People Democratic Party candidate, PDP, Mr. TolegbeAnimashaun, who came second, had seventy-five thousand nine hundred and eighty-two ( 75, 982) votes. correspondent who monitored parts of the Lagos metropolis reports that the results of House of Representatives poll in Lagos Island Federal Constituencies One and Two, also declared at the collation centre were won by ACN Candidates, Miss OlajumokeOkoya-Thomas and  AlhajiYakubuBalogun.

Mrs. Olajumoke Okoya-Thomas won with seventeen thousand eight hundred and three seventy thousand eighty hundred and three ( 70,803) votes as against six thousand two hundred and forty-four votes scored by his closest rival, Lukman Otun of PDP.

Also Alhaji Yakubu Balogun won the Lagos Island Federal Constituency Two seat, with twenty-two thousand two hundred and fifty-four votes, as against six thousand nine hundred and forty-six votes of Ganiyu Ajose of the PDP. And in Badagry Federal Constituency, correspondents report that the ACN Candidate, Mrs. Rufikat Onabamiro has been declared the winner of the House of Representatives seat.  The returning officer, Dr. Minasu Kuton announced that Mrs. Onabamiro won twenty-six thousand seven hundred and two (26,720) votes, as against eighteen thousand, one hundred and sixty one(18,161) votes scored by her closest rival, Tunji Amosun of the PDP.

For the Ikeja Federal Constituency, Mr. James Faleke of  ACN led other contestants with a total vote of thirty-two thousand, seven hundred and fifty seven(32, 757 ) while his closest rival Mr. Olalede Shonibare of PDP polled fifteen thousand, four hundred and fifty two (15,452) votes. The result was announced by the returning officer there Mr. Adelusi Kayode.

The Mushin Federal Constituency One and two were won by ACN candidates, Abayomi Kako-Are and Ganiyu Hamza. The results were announced by the returning officers, Dr. Oghenekaro Ogbanika and Dr. Chris Osagie.

In Ogun State South-West Nigeria, the results of the parliamentary Election for Ogun Central Senatorial districts as announced by the returning officers reveals that the Speaker of the Federal House of Representative, Mr Dimeji Bankole was defeated by the ACN candidate, Mr Olusegun Samuel who polled twenty-eight thousand four hundred and ninty votes (28,490 ) votes as against twenty- three thousand one hundred and three votes (23,103) by Mr. Dimeji Bankole. Also, in Ogun state, the daughter of the former president of Nigeria, Senator Iyabo Obasanjo-Bello was also defeated by Mr Olugbenga Obadara, who won by one hundred and two thousand three hundred and eighty- nine votes (102,389) as against fifty – three thousand three hundred and twelve (53,312) scored by Senator Iyabo Obasanjo Bello.

In Kwara state, north-central Nigeria the sitting Governor of the state, Dr. BukolaSaraki of the PDP has won the Kwara Central Senatorial contest. He polled seventy-eight thousand seven hundred and ninty-nine votes (78,799) as against Dr. YahayaOloriEgbe of the ACN who polled fifty three thousand fifty eight thousand votes.(53,058).

In Edo state south-south region of Nigeria, The Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN had the edge in the polls in Etsako Federal Constituency.  INEC’s Returning Officer in the state, Mr. Shola Eshiobo says that the CPC got eight (8 ) while the PDP polled twenty-four thousand one hundred and twenty- nine (24,129) votes, while the ACN got fifty-two thousand six hundred and fifty-seven (52,657) votes.  In Etsako Federal Constituency, the Returning Officer for Edo North Senatorial District, Professor Oyazigbo Aluede declared Abubakar Momoh of the ACN winner of the Etsako Federal Constituency in the polls.

In Awka North and South, Anambra state, Nigeria’s South-East Region, INEC Official, Dr. Eric Offoredu says that APGA Mr. Emeka Nwaogbo picked the ticket with sixteen thousand one hundred and seventy thousand (16,170) votes, followed by Ozo Ughamadu of the ACN with twelve thousand four hundred and sixty (12,460) votes and Emmanuel Ucheze who came in third with eight thousand and seventy-seven (8,077) votes.

And Plateau state northern part of the country, the PDP has won five out of the six federal constituency seats where election was conducted in the state. Results of the House of Represntatives announced by the Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Habu Zarma indicated that PDP won Barkinladi/Riyom, Jos East, Lantang South/Lantang North,Shendam/Mikang/Qua’an pan and Mangu/Bokkos federal constituencies, while the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, won the Wase federal constituency. In Barkinladi/Riyom, the PDP candidate Mwadkon Simon polled seventy-two thousand two hundred and sixty-eight (72,268) votes to emerge the winner of the election, while Goyul Emmanuel   Damboyi of Labour Party  got twenty six thousand  two hundred and seventeen (26,217) votes and the ACN candidate Gyang Dolyop polled one thousand five hundred and eighty-seven (1,587) votes. In Jos  South /East elections, the PDP candidate and current house member, Bitrus Kaze overwhelmingly won the poll by securing a total votes of ninty four thousand seven hundred and seventy-four( 94, 774) votes.

He defeated Choji Augustine of Laboour Party who scored twenty six thousand four hundred and sixty (26,460) votes.

Still in Plateau state, in Mangul/Bokkos election, Aminu Jonathan of  PDP won with a total votes of seventy eight thousand seven hundred and seventy-two (78,772) votes. Below him was Labour Party candidate, James Ayuba who polled seventy four thousand nine hundred and twenty (74,920) votes. The Lantang South/Lantang North saw Beni Lar, the PDP candidate and current House member polling sixty thousand four hundred and twenty-six (60,426) votes to beat her closest rival, Dadi Hitler Fankun of ACN, who polled twenty two thousand two  hundred and fifty six thousand (22,256) votes.Innocent Zettet of PDP scored sixty five thousand seven hundred and eighty-six votes to emerge winner of the Shendan/ Mikang /Qua’an pan.

More results are still being expected across the country.