The Success Story of Zimbabwe Achievers Awards ZAA

The Zimbabwean community was left buzzing after the huge success of the 2nd edition of the Moneygram Zimbabwe Achievers Awards which took place in a colourful ceremony on Saturday 28th April 2012 in London.

Born out of a simple vision, The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards is an event that seeks to recognise and honour Zimbabweans who have pushed the limits against all odds to raise the Zimbabwean flag high,

Hosted by the renowned Zimbabwean actress Chipo Chung, famed for roles on TV series such as Camelot and Dr Who, the second edition of Zimbabwe Achievers Awards took place at the Prestigious Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, The Star-studded event was well attended by hundreds of Zimbabweans and friends of Zimbabwe in a colourful blend of glitz and glamour, The night begin with a photo-call on the Red Carpet followed by a Champagne reception with a traditional group playing Marimbas as a background,  after that the crowd enjoyed a sumptuous 3 course meal and the main Awards ceremony

The Winners on the night included Glorianne Francis who won Personality of the year, Male and Female Entrepreneur went to Dr Charles Mazhude and Viola Ncube respectively, Other winners included Kirsty Coventry, Nyasaha Matonhodze,  and Marjorie Ngwenya who took the Outstanding Achievement Award

The Lifetime achievement Award went to Mr Vulidlendla Mkandla, who has helped over a 1000 Zimbabweans gain Scholarships in the UK over a 20 year period, Mr Mr Mkandla received a standing ovation from the crowd, Mr Mkandla expressed his deepest gratitude and love of Zimbabwe,  also urged Zimbabweans to strive for the best

Among an array of Celebrities at the event included Shingi Shoniwa of the Noisettes, Supa Mandiwanzira, Bkay and  Heavyweight boxer Dereck Chisora who made a personal donation of 2k to the ZAA’s chosen charities

The Event raised well over 3k for the chosen charities through raffle tickets and Silent auctions with some of the prizes donated by IMG

Speaking after the Event, ZAA CEO Conrad Mwanza said ” I would like to thank the community for the support and congratulate all the winners, there were no losers tonight as we feel every Nominee is an Achiever in their own right and the inspiration behind ZAA, ZAA is also proud to support those less privileged as charity only begins at home, lets continue to seek and dream and show the World how great we are”

The Full List is as follows


Lifetime Achievement Award – Mr Vulidlela Mkandla

Chairman’s Honorary Award – Mr Strive Masiyiwa

Academic Award – Dr. Winston Mano

Conservation Award – The Zambezi Society

Tourism Award – Wild Zambezi

Outstanding Achievement – Marjorie Ngwonya

Young Achievers Award – Nyasha Matonhodze

Friends of Zimbabwe Award – Prof. Terrance Ranger

People’s Choice Award – Betina Sibanda


Female Entrepreneur of the Year – Viola Ncube

Male Entrepreneur of the Year – Dr. Charles Mazhude

Company of the Year – Renaissance Personnel

Business Innovation of the Year – Tinaye Munonyara



Fashion Designer of the Year – Haranga Afrik Klodz

Urban Fashion Design – Blackarmoor

Event Promoter of the Year – Fashion Gives Back

International Sports Personality – Kirsty Coventry

Personality of the Year – Glorianne Francis


Community Organisation of the Year – Positive Youth Programs

Community Champion of the Year – Nyasha Gwatidzo


Journalist of the Year goes – Lance Guma

Media House of the Year – New Zimbabwe

Radio Station of the Year – Zimnet Radio

Radio presenter of the Year – Vickie Storm


Male Artist of the Year – Bruno ‘Money B’ Mukuze

Female Artist of the Year – Cynthia Mare

Gospel Artist of the Year – Jane Doka

Video of the Year – All Stars, “Just Wanna Dance”