South Africa Scoops The International Driver Of The Year Competition

By Own Correspondents – Transport Minister Sibusiso Ndebele has congratulated Mr. Juliano Hanse (21 years old) from the Eastern Cape on winning the International Driver of the Year Competition held in Austria from 2 to 5 September 2010.

Hanse was part of a 16-member South African team that represented the country.

“We wish to congratulate Mr. Juliano Hanse for doing South Africa proud by winning the Novice Rigid under 22 years category at the 2010 International Driver of the Year Competition. For the first time since the inception of this competition, South Africa has produced a world champion in this category.”

“The Department of Transport is currently rolling out several programmes which focus on the promotion of road safety in the heavy motor vehicle sector. These include driver training initiatives such as the annual Driver of the Year Competition to increase competency, health and well-being. The Department is also playing a critical role in the roll-out of the Road Transport Management System (RTMS) and strategy which focus on the promotion of heavy vehicle industry self-regulation. The National Overload Control Strategy as well as the National Freight Logistics Strategy are also being implemented.

“Millions of people who use our roads everyday deserve safer roads,” said Minister Ndebele.

The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) is responsible for the management of the annual Driver of the Year Competition. The South African team, which participated in this year’s international competition in Austria, comprised of sixteen (16) professional drivers who were selected through a rigorous process of eliminations at regional, provincial and national championships.