ICTR: Judge Khan Elected President of the Tribunal

Judge  Khalida  Rachid  Khan  (Pakistan)  has been elected President of the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda effective from 27 May  2011  for a period of two years. Judge Khan, who is presiding Judge of Trial  Chamber  III,  has  been Vice-President of the Tribunal since 21 May 2007.

She  replaces Judge Dennis Byron (St. Kitts and Nevis), former President of the  Tribunal since 21 May 2007, whose tour of duty expires on 26 May 2011. Judge Byron has been elected Vice-President.

Judge  Khan  has  been  a judge at the Tribunal since August 2003. Prior to joining  the  Tribunal,  she  served  as a Senior Puisine Judge on the High Court  of Peshawar where she was the first Pakistan woman ever appointed to that  position.  She  began  her  career as a civil judge in 1974 and later
became  Solicitor  to the Government of the North-West Frontier Province of Pakistan. She was also the first woman to be appointed as Sessions Judge in the Indian subcontinent.

Judge  Byron  arrived at the Tribunal in June 2004 and is a member of Trial Chamber  III.  Prior  to joining the Tribunal, he served as Judge and later Chief  Justice  of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court. He began his career in  private  practice  as  a  Barrister  in  1966. In 2000, Judge Byron was conferred  the honour of Knight Bachelor by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. In 2004, he was appointed a member of the Privy Council (UK).