AWDF congratulates Nobel Peace Prize winners

By Peterking Quaye  – The Executive Board and Staff of the African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF) extend their heartfelt congratulations to Her Excellency Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of the Republic of Liberia; Leymah Gbowee, Executive Director of WIPSEN/Member of the African Women Leaders Network for Reproductive Health and Family Planning (AWLN), and Tawakkul Karman, Human Rights activist, for being joint awardees of the Nobel Peace Prize 2011 for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”.

Nobel Peace Prize winners

Nobel Peace Prize winners

This award is a significant recognition of the efforts that all 3 women have made to create sustainable peace in their respective communities. As Africa’s first democratically elected woman Head of State, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is a powerful symbol for women’s leadership on the African continent and beyond.Leymah Gbowee, through her tireless mobilisation of community women across religious and ethnic lines, first in Liberia and then across West Africa, signifies the power and impact of building movements for women’s rights, peace and democracy.

Theo Sowa, Interim CEO of AWDF states, “I am delighted that President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman have been jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 2011.

This is especially important for all of us that work on women’s human rights and peace building.  This is a great boost to women’s rights activists everywhere.”