Rwanda ICTR:Four Permanent Judges of the ICTR Assigned to the Appeals Chamber

The President of  the  United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda  Judge  Dennis Byron has assigned four Permanent Judges of the Trial Chambers of the Tribunal to the Appeals Chamber of the ICTR.

The  Judges  are Khalida Rachid Khan (Pakistan), William Sekule (Tanzania), Arlette Ramaroson (Madagascar) and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov (Russia).

A statement issued by Judge Byron on Monday 23 May 2011 announced that the assignments shall take affect from the date on which their respective cases are  completed.  This follows consultations with the Judges and bearing in mind  the  need to ensure trial experience from the Tribunal in the work of the Appeals Chamber.

Judge  Khan  is  presently  assigned  to  the  Bizimungu et al. case, Judge Sekule,  the Butare et al. and the Ngirabatware cases, Judge Ramarason, the Butare  et  al.  case and Judge Tuzmukhamedov the Ndahimana and Nzabonimana cases.

Resolution  1878  (2009)  of  the  United  Nations Security Council amended Article  13  (3)  of the Statute of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda  providing  that  the  President  may  assign  up to four additional Permanent  Judges serving in the ICTR Trial Chambers to the Appeals Chamber of the ICTR once their cases are complete.