Call for entries for the 2011 Nat Nakasa Award for Media Integrity

By Novell Zwange – The Print Media SA Awards Committee, SANEF and the Nieman Society of Southern Africa are now accepting nominations for the 2011 Nat Nakasa Award for Media Integrity. Prize Money: R20 000.00, and the Deadline: 31 May 2011

Nat Nakasa was a prominent journalist and writer who died in exile. This annual award recognises any media practitioner – journalist, editor, manager or owner – who has:

* Shown integrity and reported fearlessly;
* Displayed a commitment to serve the people of South Africa;
* Tenaciously striven to maintain a publication or other medium despite insurmountable obstacles;
* Resisted any censorship;
* Shown courage in making information available to the SA public;
* Any combination of the above.

Please submit your nomination before May 31, 2011 accompanied by a motivation of 300 words to:

or 2nd Floor, 7 St Davids
St Davids Office Park
Tel: (011) 551-9600
Fax: (011) 551-9650

For Attention: Malesedi Dlamini

The Award is open to all journalists irrespective of whether they serve a community / national newspaper, magazine or an electronic medium (including online publishers).

Previous winners of this Award are, however, not eligible for entry. The winner will receive R20 000 in prize money and a certificate.


1998 Jon Qwelane

1999 Mzilikazi wa Africa

2000 Joint Winners: Mathatha Tsedu & Wolfram Zwecker

Special Mention: Baldwin Ndaba

2001 Mzilikazi wa Africa, Andre Jurgens
Jessica Bezuidenhout – Sunday Times Investigations Team

2002 Justin Arenstein – African Eye News Service

Special Mentions: Elise Tempelhoff – Beeld
Martin Welz – Noseweek

2003 Debbie Yazbek – The Star

Special Mention: David Macfarlane – Mail & Guardian

2004 Buks Viljoen – The Lowvelder

2005 Alf Kumalo

2006 Guy Berger

2007 Jacques Pauw

2008 Max du Preez

2009 Greg Marinovich

2010 Terry Bell